.

Workshop at Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property on “A Project to Develop Copyright Protection Law”

Workshop at Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property on “A Project to Develop Copyright Protection Law”

The Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property (SAIP) has organized a workshop entitled “A Project to Develop Copyright Protection Law” at its headquarters in Riyadh. The event was attended by a number of professionals and individuals interested in the field of copyright from both public and private sectors.

During the opening ceremony, the CEO of SAIP, Dr. Abdulaziz bin Mohammad AlSuwailem, emphasized the significance of the workshop due to its huge role in developing the copyright protection law. He also indicated that SAIP has drafted an action plan to develop Intellectual Property (IP) Laws, and the fact that it has started with the project of developing a copyright protection law as promulgated in Royal Decree M/41 of 7/2/1424 A.H. In fact, this aims at achieving SAIP’s objectives in regulating, supporting, enhancing, sponsoring, protecting, enforcing and promoting all IP areas based on international best practices. This endeavor will also serve to activate SAIP’s mandate to propose IP-related laws and regulations.

The workshop has addressed several themes, including the latest developments to legislations and regulations, SAIP’s mandate to implement and enforce the law at hand, and the objectives of the law development project. Additionally, the workshop also reflected on the reasons behind the project, areas of adjustment and development, the added value of the development project, and the process of disputes and lawsuits arising from violating the copyright protection law.

It is worth mentioning that SAIP is actually undertaking various tasks that mainly include developing the National Strategy for Intellectual Property, following-up implementation after its adoption, drafting action plans and schedules in coordination and cooperation with the relevant authorities, and proposing IP-related laws and regulations. Furthermore, SAIP also represents the Kingdom in IP-related international and regional organizations, defends its interests, and expresses views on IP-related international agreements. On top of that, SAIP follows-up the Kingdom’s obligations following the accession to IP-related international agreements, promotes IP utilization towards realizing an advanced knowledge-based economy, creates domain-related databases, exchanges information with international and regional entities, and finally it is the competent authority for licensing activities in its domain.

 

Share this post

مشروع تطوير نظام حماية حقوق المؤلف ” ورشة عمل بالهيئة السعودية للملكية الفكرية “

مشروع تطوير نظام حماية حقوق المؤلف ” ورشة عمل بالهيئة السعودية للملكية الفكرية “

نظمت الهيئة السعودية للملكية الفكرية اليوم ورشة عمل بعنوان ” مناقشة مشروع تطوير نظام حماية حقوق المؤلف “، و ذلك بمقر الهيئة بالرياض ، بحضور عدد من المختصين و المهتمين بمجال حقوق المؤلف من القطاعين العام و الخاص.

و أكد الرئيس التنفيذي للهيئة الملكية الفكرية الدكتور عبدالعزيز بن محمد السويلم خلال افتتاح الورشة على أهميتها لما لها من دور كبير في تطوير نظام حماية حقوق المؤلف، مشيراً إلى أن الهيئة وضعت خطة عمل لتطوير أنظمة الملكية الفكرية، وقد بدأت بمشروع تطوير نظام حماية حقوق المؤلف الصادر بالمرسوم الملكي م/ ٤١ بتاريخ ٧\٢\ ١٤٢٤ هـ ـ تحقيقاً لأهداف الهيئة في تنظيم مجالات الملكية الفكرية في المملكة و دعمها وتنميتها ورعايتها وحمايتها وإنفاذها والارتقاء بها وفقاً لأفضل الممارسات العالمية، وإعمالاً لاختصاص الهيئة في اقتراح الأنظمة واللوائح المتعلقة بحقوق الملكية الفكرية.
وتناولت الورشة عدة محاور منها مستجدات التشريعات والأنظمة، واختصاصات الهيئة بتنفيذ وتطبيق النظام محل التطوير، وأهداف مشروع تطوير النظام، كما تطرقت الورشة إلى الأسباب التي دعت إلى إعداد المشروع، ومواطن التعديل والتطوير والإضافة  في مشروع النظام المطور، ومسار المنازعات والدعاوى الناشئة عن مخالفة نظام حماية حقوق المؤلف.
الجدير بالذكر أن الهيئة تقوم بمهام عدة أبرزها إعداد الاستراتيجية الوطنية للملكية الفكرية، ومتابعة تنفيذها بعد اعتمادها، ووضع خطط عمل وبرامج زمنية لها بالتنسيق والتعاون مع الجهات ذات العلاقة، واقتراح الأنظمة واللوائح المتعلقة بحقوق الملكية الفكرية، كما تتولى تمثيل المملكة في المنظمات الدولية والإقليمية ذات العلاقة بحقوق الملكية الفكرية، والدفاع عن مصالحها، وإبداء الرأي في شأن الاتفاقيات الدولية المتعلقة بحقوق الملكية الفكرية، بالإضافة إلى متابعة تنفيذ الالتزامات المترتبة على انضمام المملكة إلى الاتفاقيات الدولية المتعلقة بالملكية الفكرية، وتعمل أيضاً على تعزيز الاستفادة من الملكية الفكرية؛ لبناء اقتصاد متقدم قائم على المعرفة، إلى جانب إنشاء قواعد للمعلومات في مجال عمل الهيئة، وتبادل المعلومات مع الجهات المحلية والإقليمية والعالمية، كما تقوم بالترخيص للأنشطة ذات العلاقة بمجال عملها.

شارك هذا المنشور