.

Destruction of more than 3 million items violating intellectual property rights in Saudi Arabia

Destruction of more than 3 million items violating intellectual property rights in Saudi Arabia

The Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property (SAIP), in collaboration with the Ministry of Media, confiscated and destroyed more than 3,500,000 items violating intellectual property rights. These items were seized during the transitional period of copyright from the Ministry of Media to SAIP. The seized items included copied and counterfeit books, satellite broadcasting devices, computer program storage devices, in addition to photocopy devices for audio works.

This process follows the inspection campaigns targeted various cities and regions Saudi Arabia. It comes from the competencies assigned to SAIP according to its mandate, where SAIP is warning against promoting or trading products violating intellectual property rights. SAIP has stressed that all necessary measures will be taken to implement the deterrent penalties for violations. This is in order to have effective enforcement of intellectual property rights, especially copyright. This process also comes after carrying out several awareness campaigns by SAIP, in collaboration with the relevant authorities, to raise awareness of respect for intellectual property rights.

During the destruction process, SAIP, in collaboration with the Ministry of Media and the relevant authorities, was able to recycle nearly one million items violating the intellectual property rights to safe the environmental. This was made in accordance with best practices that preserve and respect the environment and public health.

The CEO of the Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property, Dr. Abdulaziz bin Muhammad Al-Swailem, mentioned that the process of destroying infringing items is not the only punishment for violators of intellectual property, and it is conducted in accordance with international agreements to which Saudi Arabia is committed.

Al-Suwailem also mentioned that based on SAIP role in promoting respect for intellectual property and achieving transparency in the local and international community in implementing decisions, we are continuing our efforts to confront items that violate intellectual property rights in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia by destroying and recycling them in collaboration with the concerned entities and to preserve the environment and prevent the damages of destroying those violating items by traditional methods that violate environmental protection regulations applied in Saudi Arabia.

SAIP stressed that it will take necessary actions and measures to hold accountable violators in all IP areas SAIP competent with, and will take care of their rights, and called on citizens and residents to support the efforts to respect intellectual property rights by communicating with the authority’s official channels through social media @saipksa and e-mail Saip @ Saip.gov.sa and the direct number for customer service 920021421.

Share this post

.

إتلاف أكثر من 3 مليون مصنف منتهك لحقوق الملكية الفكرية في المملكة

إتلاف أكثر من 3 مليون مصنف منتهك لحقوق الملكية الفكرية في المملكة

قامت الهيئة السعودية للملكية الفكرية بالتعاون مع وزارة الإعلام بمصادرة وإتلاف أكثر من (3.5) ثلاثة ونصف مليون مصنف منتهك لحقوق الملكية الفكرية تم ضبطها خلال المرحلة الانتقالية لاختصاص حق المؤلف من وزارة الاعلام للهيئة السعودية للملكية الفكرية، وفق ما قضت به الأحكام والقرارات ذات العلاقة، وقد اشتملت المضبوطات على الكتب المنسوخة والمقلّدة وأجهزة البث الفضائي وأجهزة تخزين برامج الحاسب الآلي، إضافةً إلى أجهزة النسخ للمصنفات الصوتية، وذلك بعد أن قامت الهيئة بالحملات التفتيشية التي استهدفت مختلف مدن ومناطق المملكة.

يأتي ذلك انطلاقًا من المهام والاختصاصات المناطة بالهيئة وفق تنظيمها، وقد حذرت الهيئة مسبقًا من الترويج أو الإتجار بأي منتج ينتهك حقوق الملكية الفكرية، أو أي تصرف يخالف أنظمة الملكية الفكرية، وبيّنت العقوبات النظامية المترتبة على تلك المخالفات، مؤكدةً بأنها لن تتهاون في اتخاذ الإجراءات والتدابير اللازمة لتطبيق العقوبات الرادعة بهذا الشأن، سعيًا للإنفاذ الفعّال لحقوق الملكية الفكرية، لا سيما المتعلقة بمجال حقوق المؤلف وتأتي مرحلة الإنفاذ لاحترام حقوق الملكية الفكرية بعد أن قامت الهيئة بتنفيذ العديد من الحملات لتوعوية بالشراكة مع الجهات ذات العلاقة للتوعية باحترام حقوق الملكية الفكرية.
وخلال عملية الإتلاف تمكنت الهيئة بالتعاون مع وزارة الاعلام والجهات ذات العلاقة من إعادة تدوير قرابة مليون قطعة منتهكة لحقوق الملكية الفكرية لتجنب الآثار البيئية الضارة جراء إتلاف تلك المصنفات ووفقاً لأفضل الممارسات التي تحافظ على البيئة وصحة الإنسان وتراعيها.

وذكر الرئيس التنفيذي للهيئة السعودية للملكية الفكرية الدكتور عبدالعزيز بن محمد السويلم: أن عملية الإتلاف للمصنفات المنتهكة ليست العقوبة الوحيدة التي ينالها المخالف لأنظمة الملكية الفكرية، وهذا بموجب الاتفاقيات الدولية التي تلتزم بها المملكة.

وأضاف السويلم: أنه انطلاقا من دور الهيئة في تعزيز احترام الملكية الفكرية وإنفاذها وتحقيق الشفافية لدى المجتمع المحلي والدولي في تنفيذ الأحكام والقرارات فإننا نستكمل جهودنا في التصدي للمصنفات المنتهكة لحقوق الملكية الفكرية في المملكة من خلال إتلافها وإعادة تدويرها بالتعاون مع أصحاب الشأن للحفاظ على البيئة ووقايتها من أضرار إتلاف تلك المصنفات المنتهكة بالطرق التقليدية التي تتعارض مع أنظمة حماية البيئة التي تطبقها المملكة العربية السعودية.

وشددت الهيئة على أنها لن تتهاون في اتخاذ الإجراءات والتدابير اللازمة لمحاسبة المخالفين للأنظمة في جميع المجالات التي تختص الهيئة برعاية حقوقها، وأهابت بالمواطنين والمقيمين دعم جهود احترام حقوق الملكية الفكرية من خلال التواصل مع قنوات الهيئة الرسمية وذلك عبر مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي @saipksa والبريد الإلكتروني Saip@Saip.gov.sa والرقم المباشر لخدمة العملاء 920021421

شارك هذا المنشور