Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Abdulaziz bin Mohammed Al Suwailem

Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Al-Suwailem holds a Ph.D. from the University of Sheffield, UK, in the field of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering. He has carried out research in genomics, peritonitis, biosafety, and genetic modification. He also has numerous researches, and scientific reports in the field of biotechnology, genetic engineering, and ethics; associated with research activity on living organizations. He has lectured at many universities, conferences, and seminars locally and internationally.

Dr. Abdulaziz Al Suwailem has an extensive experience in intellectual property rights at the local and international levels, where he served as an adviser to the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), as well as at the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). He has been Vice President for Scientific Research Support at King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology since 1431H, and he was appointed a research professor in the same year. Prior to that, He served as a supervisor at the Institute of Natural Resources and Environmental Research for 10 years and the Head of KACST Biotechnology Research Center. He also aired a number of local and international boards and committees and participated in its membership, where he changed the Intergovernmental Bioethics Committee (UNESCO) between 2009-2011;

Dr. Al Suwailem is a member of the Board of Directors of King Faisal Specialist Hospital and is a member of: the Research Center, the Board of Directors of the Communications and Information Technology Commission, the Supreme Petroleum Council Preparatory Committee, the Environment Council, the National Committee for Clean Development Mechanisms, the Supreme Council of Al Marai Prize for Scientific Innovation and the Secretary-General of the Prize.

الرئيس التنفيذي

الدكتور السويلم حاصل على شهادة الدكتوراه من جامعة شفيلد ببريطانيا في تخصص التقنية الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية، وعمل على عدد من المشاريع البحثية في مجال الجينوم والبريتومكس والسلامة الحيوية والتحوير الوراثي، كما له العديد من الأبحاث، والتقارير العلمية المحكمة في مجال التقنية الحيوية والهندسة الوراثية والأخلاقيات؛ المرتبطة بالنشاط البحثي على الكائنات الحية، وحاضر في العديد من الجامعات والمؤتمرات والندوات المحلية والعالمية

وللسويلم خبرة واسعة في مجال حقوق الملكية الفكرية على الصعيد المحلي والدولي، إذ عمل مستشاراً لدى المنظمة العالمية للملكية الفكرية “الويبو” ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة “اليونسكو”، كما شغل منصب نائب الرئيس لدعم البحث العلمي بمدينة الملك عبد العزيز للعلوم والتقنية منذ العام 1431هـ وعُيّن على درجة أستاذ بحث في العام نفسه، وعمل قبل ذلك مشرفاً على معهد بحوث الموارد الطبيعية والبيئة لمدة عشر سنوات، ورئيساً لمركز أبحاث التقنية الحيوية بالمدينة. كما رأس عددا من مجالس الإدارات واللجان المحلية والدولية وشارك في عضويتها، إذ رأس اللجنة الدولية الحكومية للأخلاقيات الحيوية “اليونسكو” بين عامي 2009 – 2011م واللجنة الوطنية للأخلاقيات الحيوية NCBE، واللجنة الإشرافية لإعداد الخطة الاستراتيجية للسلامة المرورية.

الدكتور السويلم عضوا بمجلس إدارة مستشفى الملك فيصل التخصصي وشغل عضوية مركز الأبحاث، ومجلس إدارة هيئة الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات، واللجنة التحضيرية للمجلس الأعلى للبترول، ومجلس البيئة، واللجنة الوطنية لآليات التنمية النظيفة، والمجلس الأعلى لجائزة المراعي للإبداع العلمي والأمين العام للجائزة.

د. عبدالعزيز بن محمد السويلم
الرئيس التنفيذي